Students Earn Highest Honors at Theatre Districts

This past Saturday, members of Honors Theatre 3 & 4 competed with a dozen schools at the International Thespian Society Districts event. They performed their One Act, entitled “The Bible In 30 Minutes Or Less,” and won the highest honor of Critic’s Choice. Libby Kellmanson ’19 was named All-Star Cast Member. Anna Baumeister ’18 was awarded Best Featured Performer For The Night. Episcopal School of Jacksonville was one of only three schools chosen from our District to perform at the State competition in March.

Over Thanksgiving Break, the Individual Events portion of Districts was held. Thirty-eight students presented 23 pieces including scenes, songs, an original play, and a make-up design. Nine of these events received Excellent Ratings. Fourteen of them received Superior. These are the two highest possible rankings. Hayden Ginder ’18 and Margaux Halloran ’18 won Critic’s Choice for their play, entitled “Porkcops.” Libby Kellmanson ’19 received First Runner Up for her make-up design of “12th Night.”

Students who participated in these two events included Elizabeth Banks ’20, Anna Baumeister ’18, Naiya Cheanvechai ’20, Morgan Chupp ’20, Mariel Colao ’20, Daniel Cooper ’21, Matthew Cooper ’19, Annabelle Combs ’18, Bridget Coscia ’20, Hayden Ginder ’18, Gracie Guy ’19, Margaux Halloran ’18, Jewel Hardwick ’20, Jessica Hogan ’19, Matthew Joseph ’19, Parker Joyce ’18, Ben Ketchum ’19, Maguire Kelly ’18, Libby Kellmanson ’19, Caroline Lamm ’19, Ariel Largen ’21, Brian Mahon ’18, Sarah McCawley ’19, Amelia McLaughlin ’21, Thomas McLaughlin ’19, Caroline Million ’21, Jake Moorehead ’19, Mark Mori ’20, Lauren Nott ’20, Emily Peterson ’21, Mariama Pouye ’18, Rhyan Reid ’19, Janelle Sessoms ’19, Amaria Simmons ’19, Nandini Tandon ’20, Xarria Taylor ’18, Maia Wells ’18, and Billy Wu ’18.

“These students are incredible scholars, athletes, and artists, Despite their busy schedules, they put their best foot forward and make our school incredibly proud,” says Taylor Horne ’00, Upper School Theatre Director and Performing Arts Department Chair. “Their talent and dedication is inspiring.”