Episcopal strongly believes in investing in its most important asset -- its faculty and staff. Faculty and staff are encouraged to attend professional development opportunities across the country throughout the year. In addition to continuing to pursue certifications and higher degrees, Episcopal’s faculty engages in ongoing professional development opportunities offered through the University of North Florida, the Florida Council of Independent Schools and conferences on pedagogy. Teachers have attended field-specific training as well, including the United States Institute for Theatre Technology, the Percussive Arts Society International Convention; AP workshops; Econ in the Real World; and Hamilton, History and the Federal Reserve.

“If, as a school, we aim to nurture life-long learners, then teachers must model it for their students. Look around and you will see a faculty committed to continued growth,” says Marta Pauly, Dean of Faculty & Academics. “We do it in a variety of ways– by engaging in group book studies, by sharing information and techniques we learn from workshops and conferences, by collaborating with colleagues about the best way to teach a subject matter or unit, by engaging in conversations that afford us the chance to reflect on how and why we teach, and by sharing ideas about ways to serve our students better. There is an energy that comes from bonding with colleagues who share common aspirations. That energy is palpable and, in the end, creates a culture conducive to growth and learning.”

2018 Professional Development Accomplishments

2018 Lastinger Summer Scholars

Katherine Snyder - England

Elizabeth Simpson Walton '71 Fund for Coaches' Professional Development

Coaches Take Advantage of Best Professional Development Opportunities

History: Natalie Hereford - AP World History Exam Leadership Team

College Counseling: Ryan Riggs Co-Chairs SACAC ProgramAndrea Rizzi Visits Washington State SchoolsRyan Riggs Attends Southern Consortium,

English: Teachers Attend Phillips Exeter Academy Humanities Institute

Dr. Kate Pritchard Wins Scholarship to Attend Seminar in Germany

2017 Professional Development Accomplishments

2017 Lastinger Summer Scholars

The Rev. Teresa Seagle - Holy Land

Rebecca Hoadley - Ireland

Jessica Snapp - Argentina

Computer Science:
Tom Lavelle, AP Summer Institute for Computer Science principles, Orlando
Tom Lavelle, Online AP Principles on Mobile Device

Chad Senesak- AP Workshop for AP Language & Composition, Jax
Cathy Kanaday, AP Workshop for AP Language & Composition, Jax
Harkness workshop for English Teachers, at ESJ

Fine Arts Faculty & Staff Professional Development

Christina Milon- Stanford U. Core Practices for Inquiry-Based History Teaching,CA
Mary Hunt- Project-Based Learning (PBL), CA.
Department: Harkness Workshop for History teachers at ESJ
Alex Nichols – “Econ in the Real World: Hamilton, History & the Federal Reserve” offered by the Federal Reserve of Atlanta

Brenda Vermillion- Project-Based Learning (PBL), CA.

Marion Zeiner- STEM Conference in Kissimmee, FL.
Sally Russo, AP Chemistry Workshop, Jacksonville

World Languages:
Lucy Lee, Nancy Predergast, Carolina Collins,Lucia Allen- TPRS Workshop, Jax
Gwen Miranda- Teaching Proficiency through Reading and Storytelling or TPRS (NTPRS), San Antonio

Andy Kidd, Chip Stroud Kasse Eppley – FHSAA Seminar, including workshops on NCAA requirements, compliance and education and mentoring for coaches

Southern Association of Independent Schools (SAIS)Institute for New Teachers
Caitlyn Fitzpatrick
Courtney Flerlage
Shelly Long
David Schwei
Tom Lavelle
Arianne Leary
Tess Sturgeon

EPISCOPAL SCHOOL OF JACKSONVILLE, 4455 Atlantic Boulevard, Jacksonville FL 32207 USA
Copyright © 2019 EPISCOPAL SCHOOL OF JACKSONVILLE All Rights Reserved. All other trademarks and trade names are those of their respective owners.